The Gunner Girl - Clare Harvey

The Gunner Girl

The Gunner Girl

0.0 0 5 Author: Clare Harvey
.
*** Winner of the RNA Joan Hessayon New Writers Award 2016 *** Perfect reading for fans of Katie Flynn, Margaret Dickinson and Ellie Dean! Meet the Gunner Girls - three women with one shared ambition: to join the ATS and do their bit for King and country. Bea has grown up part of a large, boisterous Kent family. But she hasn't heard from her soldier sweetheart in months and her mother is controlling her life. She needs to take charge of her future. Edie inhabits a world of wealth and privilege, but knows only too well that money can't buy happiness. She wants to be like Winston Churchill's daughter, Mary, to make a difference. Joan can't remember anything of her past or her family, and her home has been bombed in the Blitz. Desperate, she needs a refuge. Each one is a Gunner Girl: three very different women, one remarkable wartime friendship of shared hopes, lost loves and terrible danger. 'Will delight all those who love a good wartime story' Dilly Court 'An irresistible tale of friendship, love and heartache during WW2 that had me enthralled' Kate Furnivall 'Heart-warming, enjoyable and full of surprises, I loved The Gunner Girl' Elizabeth Chadwick 'Clare Harvey is an exceptional new talent. The Gunner Girl offers a stunningly realistic vision of the WW2 era, through the intertwined lives and loves of three very different women. The story is brought to life by razor sharp dialogue, an eye for period details and a taut plot which never becomes sentimental' Kate Rhodes
Language: English Category: Fiction Translator:

More info about the ebook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Published: 2015-10-08
ISBN: 9781471150555
Comments

Always have a good book lined up - Listen and read whenever you want

Read and listen to as many books as you like! Download books offline, listen to several books continuously, choose stories for your kids, or try out a book that you didn't thought you would like to listen to. The best book experience you'd ever had.

Free trial for 14 days