Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope Откъс

Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

Where I Live Now: A Journey through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope

Автор:
Sharon Butala
Разказвач:
Sharon Butala
Aудиокнига
Е-книга

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss.

"It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended." -Sharon Butala

In the tradition of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill's Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande's Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers.

When Sharon Butala's husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory–of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss.

Often called one of this country's true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Език:
Английски
Категория:
Биографии

Повече информация за аудиокнигата

Издателство:
Recorded Books, Inc.
Публикувана:
2019-09-10
Дължина:
6ч. 18мин.
ISBN:
9781980056171

Повече информация за е-книгата

Издателство:
Simon & Schuster
Публикувана:
2018-04-04
ISBN:
9781476790503

Подобни книги

Hitta storyn som passar just dig

Henrik Karlsson

"Har precis startat en provperiod hos Storytel och det är det bästa jag någonsin gjort. Att lyssna ger mig full koncentration på boken samtidigt som jag kan pyssla med annat."

Birgitta Johansson

"Det bästa som har hänt mig på länge. Dessutom lyssnar jag på böcker som jag nog aldrig hade kommit mig för att läsa annars. Jag lyssnar i bilen, på promenaden eller när jag städar."

Birgitta Lindh

"Jag och min man delar familjeabonnemanget och har haft Storytel i 5-6 år. Vi är så nöjda med både appen och Readern. Här finns ett stort bokutbud som passar oss båda!"