16 Avaliações
4
Idioma
Inglês
Categoria
Ficção
Duração
12H 12min

In Every Mirror She's Black

Autor: Lọlá Ákínmádé Åkerström Narrador: Sara Powell, Rosemarie Akwafo Audiobook

A timely and arresting debut novel about what it means to be a Black woman in the world. Perfect for fans of Queenie and Americanah.

Kemi is ready to change her life. She's sick of being second-guessed in the boardroom; tired of smiling politely while men gaze at her body; bored of dating surveys that tell her Black African women are the least desired in America. Moving across the world, for a new job, certainly things will be different?

Brittany-Rae is tired of serving others. She's determined not to struggle like her parents did. As a flight attendant, she's seen the way the super-wealthy float, untouchable and easy, and she envies it. As a model in her twenties, she had a taste of that privilege. Now pushing forty, she knows that to have one kind of freedom, she must sacrifice another.

Muna began her treacherous journey two years ago. Then, she was a family of three. Now her mother and younger brother are buried somewhere at the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea. She's been granted asylum, but she can't shake the feeling that she will never belong. When your only family is a stack of passport photos, it's hard to grow new roots.

In search of escape, these three women find themselves in Stockholm, a city that prides itself on being egalitarian and open. Instead of a fresh new start, they find the same problems just wear a different name.

'A sharply written story with messy, deeply moving characters, raising brutal questions and steering clear of easy answers.' Taylor Jenkins Reid, bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six

'These characters will pull at your heartstrings.' Nicole Dennis-Benn, bestselling author of novels Here Comes the Sun and Patsy

'A sexy, surprising, searing debut about love, loss, desire, and the many dimensions of Black womanhood. Timely and terrific!' Deesha Philyaw, award-winning author of The Secret Life of Church Ladies

'This is a very different and unpredictable portrayal of Black women's search for love and self, and it's pure magic' Kim Golden, author of Maybe Baby

'At once enjoyable and disturbing as it explores the painful price millions of women around the world pay for walking around with black skin' Imbolo Mbue, bestselling author of Behold the Dreamers

'Captivating.' Chika Unigwe, author of On Black Sisters' Street

'A striking debut ... As entertaining as it is revealing.' Booklist

© 2021 W. F. Howes Ltd (Audiobook) ISBN: 9781801108621