Sample
Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West - Anthony Pagden

Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West

Worlds at War: The 2,500-Year Struggle Between East and West

3.73 15 5 Author: Anthony Pagden Narrator: John Lee
Audiobook.
In the tradition of Jared Diamond and Jacques Barzun, prize-winning historian Anthony Pagden presents a sweeping history of the long struggle between East and West, from the Greeks to the present day.

The relationship between East and West has always been one of turmoil. In this historical tour de force, a renowned historian leads us from the world of classical antiquity, through the Dark Ages, to the Crusades, Europe's resurgence, and the dominance of the Ottoman Empire, which almost shattered Europe entirely. Pagden travels from Napoleon in Egypt to Europe's carving up of the finally moribund Ottomans-creating the modern Middle East along the way-and on to the present struggles in Iraq.

Throughout we learn a tremendous amount about what "East" and "West" were and are, and how it has always been competing worldviews and psychologies, more than religion or power grabs, that have fed the mistrust and violence between East and West. In Pagden's dark but provocative view, this struggle cannot help but go on.
Language: English Category: Religion & Spirituality Translator:

More information about the audiobook:

Publisher: Tantor Audio
Published: 2008-03-25
Length: 20H 36Min
ISBN: 9781400176298
Comments

Always have a good book lined up - Listen and read whenever you want

Read and listen to as many books as you like! Download books offline, listen to several books continuously, choose stories for your kids, or try out a book that you didn't thought you would like to listen to. The best book experience you'd ever had.

Free trial for 14 days