Hljóðbrot
13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl - Mona Awad

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

2,43 14 5 Höfundur: Mona Awad Lesari: Jorjeana Marie
Hljóðbók.
Rafbók.
A hilarious, deeply resonant and at times shocking novel about the harmful beauty standards imposed on women. A must-read for fans of Lena Dunham, Roxane Gay and Caitlin Moran.

Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks– even though her best friend Mel says she's the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she's afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose weight. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl?

In her brilliant, hilarious and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heart-breaking, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girlintroduces a vital new voice in fiction.
Tungumál: enska Flokkur: Skáldsögur Þýðandi:

Meiri upplýsingar um hljóðbókina:

Útgefandi: W. F. Howes Ltd
Útgefið: 2019-11-14
Lengd: 6Klst. 27Mín
ISBN: 9781789548273

Meiri upplýsingar um rafbókina

Útgefandi: Head of Zeus
Útgefið: 2019-06-13
ISBN: 9781788549660
Umsagnir

Hafðu alltaf góða bók við höndina - hlustaðu og lestu hvar og hvenær sem er

Lestu og hlustaðu á eins margar bækur og þú vilt! Vistaðu bækurnar á tækið fyrir ferðalögin, hlustaðu til skiptis á aðrar bækur, veldu sögur fyrir börnin þín og finndu næstu uppáhalds bókina þína. Með Storytel ertu ávallt með heilt bókasafn í vasanum.

Prófaðu frítt í 14 daga