The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predi - Robert M. Sapolsky

The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predi

The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predi

3 3 5 Scritto da: Robert M. Sapolsky
Disponibile in formato ebook.
Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.

In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief.

Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.
Lingua: Inglese Categoria: Non-fiction Traduttore:

Più informazioni

Editore: Scribner
Pubblicato: 2012-10-16
ISBN: 9781439125052
Recensioni

Come funziona?

1) Crea un account qui sul sito web

2) Attiva la prova gratuita

3) Scarica l’app

4) Inserisci le tue credenziali e accedi all’app

5) Inizia ad ascoltare!

Prova gratis per 14 giorni