Friends and Traitors - John Lawton

Friends and Traitors

Friends and Traitors

0 0 5 Scritto da: John Lawton
Inspector Troy of Scotland Yard stars in thriller that’s “part murder mystery, part spy tale … a wickedly seductive entertainment” (TheWashington Post).

London, 1958. Chief Superintendent Frederick Troy of Scotland Yard, newly promoted after good service during Nikita Khrushchev’s visit to Britain, is not looking forward to a European trip with his older brother, Rod. Rod has decided to take his entire family on “the Grand Tour” for his fifty-first birthday: a whirlwind of restaurants, galleries, and concert halls from Paris to Florence to Vienna to Amsterdam.

But Frederick Troy only gets as far as Vienna. It is there that he crosses paths with an old acquaintance, a man who always seems to be followed by trouble: British-spy-turned-Soviet-agent Guy Burgess. Suffice it to say that Troy is more than surprised when Burgess, who has escaped from the bosom of Moscow for a quick visit to Vienna, tells him something extraordinary: “I want to come home. ” Troy knows this news will cause a ruckus in London—but even Troy doesn’t expect an MI5 man to be gunned down as a result, with Troy himself suspected of doing the deed …

“An artful blend of two ever-popular subjects: espionage and British police work. ” —The Seattle Times

“The surprises keep coming, not merely up to the last chapter but even to the novel’s very last line. ” —Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

“Lawton’s superb eighth Inspector Troy novel … [a] smart, fascinating historical thriller. ” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A beguiling interpretation of [Guy] Burgess’ life both before and after his defection in 1951. ” —Booklist (starred review)
Lingua: Inglese Categoria: Gialli Serie: The Inspector Troy Novels: 8 Traduttore:

Più informazioni

Editore: Atlantic Monthly Press
Pubblicato: 2020-01-09
ISBN: 9780802189219

Come funziona?

1) Crea un account qui sul sito web

2) Attiva la prova gratuita

3) Scarica l’app

4) Inserisci le tue credenziali e accedi all’app

5) Inizia ad ascoltare!

Prova gratis per 14 giorni