Geen reviews
Korte verhalen

Evil Eye: Four Novellas of Love Gone Wrong

Auteur: Joyce Carol Oates E-book

“A quartet of shrewd and unnerving novellas about toxic entanglements” from the National Book Award–winning author (Booklist).

Joyce Carol Oates is one of the most prominent writers of her generation, and she is fearless when exploring the most disturbing corners of human nature. In Evil Eye, Oates offers four chilling tales about love so powerful that people might die—or kill—for it.

In the title story, we meet Mariana, the young fourth wife of a prominent intellectual. When her husband’s first wife comes to visit, Mariana learns a terrible secret that threatens her marriage and sanity.

In “So Near Any Times Always, ” shy teenager Lizbeth meets Desmond, a charming older boy who offers the first spark of romance. Yet as their relationship blossoms, Lizbeth realizes that a menacing soul lies beneath Desmond’s perfect façade.

In “The Execution, ” spoiled college student Bart Hansen has planned the perfect crime to get back at his condescending parents. What he didn’t plan on was the resilience of his mother’s love, even in the face of death.

And in “The Flatbed, ” childhood trauma has prevented Cecelia from enjoying physical intimacy with a man. But when she meets the love of her life, Cecelia must confront the demon who stole her innocence long ago.

With the razor-sharp prose that has made Joyce Carol Oates a living legend, Evil Eye shows love as sporadically magical, mysterious, and murderous.

“A dazzling, disturbing, tour de force of Gothic suspense: four odd, compelling, ingeniously narrated tales that gain in power and resonance when read in conjunction with each other. ” —The Boston Globe

“Exquisitely suspenseful… . The relationships between the damaged, sometimes monstrous individuals who people these pages will keep the reader riveted. ” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

© 2018 Mysterious Press (E-book) ISBN: 9780802194022