Our Hidden Lives: The Remarkable Diaries of Postwar Britain - Simon Garfield

Our Hidden Lives: The Remarkable Diaries of Postwar Britain

Our Hidden Lives: The Remarkable Diaries of Postwar Britain

4.17 6 5 Författare: Simon Garfield Inläsare: Joan Walker, Simon Garfield, Moir leslie, Jeffrey Perry, Christopher Scott, Amanda Carlton
Finns som ljudbok.
In 1936 anthropologist Tom Harrison, poet and journalist Charles Madge and documentary filmmaker Humphrey Jennings set up the Mass Observation Project. The idea was simple: ordinary people would record, in diary form, the events of their everyday lives. An estimated one million pages eventually found their way to the archive – and it soon became clear this was more than anyone could digest. Today, the diaries are stored at the University of Sussex, where remarkably most remain unread. In Our Hidden Lives, Simon Garfield has skilfully woven a tapestry of diary entries in the rarely discussed but pivotal period of 1945 to 1948. The result is a moving, intriguing, funny, at times heartbreaking book –unashamedly populist in the spirit of Forgotten Voices or indeed Margaret Forster's Diary of an Ordinary Woman. 'I love these diaries. They have the attraction of being stories, but REAL stories. Better than any novel.' Margaret Forster 'A lovely book. It will appeal to anyone who appreciates the richness and diversity of human experience.' Tony Benn 'Utterly engrossing, better than any kind of reality TV.' Gavin Esler 'Funny, vivid, touching, angry, thoughtful – every page is a delight. This is definitely no. 1 on my present list to give to everyone in the coming year.' Jenny Uglow, author of The Lunar Men
Språk: Engelska Kategori: Historia Förkortad version Översättare:

Mer info om ljudboken:

Förlag: Ebury Digital
Utgiven: 2016-10-06
Längd: 3T 9M
ISBN: 9781473551053

Ha alltid en bra bok på gång – lyssna och läs som du vill

Läs och lyssna på så många böcker du orkar! Ladda ner böcker offline, välj sagor till barnen eller prova en bok du inte visste att du ville höra. Helt enkelt den bästa digitala bokupplevelsen du kan få.
Prova fritt i 14 dagar