Broken Places - Tracy Clark

Broken Places

Broken Places

3.5 2 5 Author: Tracy Clark
E-book.
Cass Raines – a former cop turned private investigator. But has she got what it takes to catch a murderer…?

When Cass Raines took a bullet in the line of duty, it wasn’t injury that saw her quit the police but the cover up for an incompetent colleague that followed. Now, the Chicago PD has one less African-American woman on the force and Cass is the head of a one-woman private investigation agency.

When her close friend Father Ray asks Cass to look into a recent spate of vandalism at his church, she readily agrees. But only hours later she’s horrified to discover his murdered body in the church confessional, and another dead man nearby.

The lead detective assigned to the case is all too ready to dismiss it as an interrupted burglary gone awry – just another statistic in a violent city. But Cass’s instincts tell her otherwise, and badge or no badge, she intends to see justice done…

The first in a series of compulsive crime novels featuring an unforgettable lead character. Perfect for fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels.

Praise for Tracy Clark

‘This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now. ’ Booklist

‘Unforgettable… . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel. ’ Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

‘Clark’s kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines. ’ Kirkus Reviews

‘Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V. I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks. ’ Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW
Language: English Category: Crime Translator:

More info about the ebook

Publisher: Canelo
Published: 2021-01-18
ISBN: 9781800323599
Comments

Discover Singapore's largest library of audiobooks and e-books available through unlimited subscription

Read and listen to as many books as you like! Download books offline, listen to several books simultaneously, switch to kids mode, or try out a book that you never thought you would. Discover the best book experience you'd ever have.

Start your 14 days free trial