Weekends with Max and His Dad

Weekends with Max and His Dad

Weekends with Max and His Dad

Author:
Linda Urban
E-book

“Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there’s a new kid on the block … Bighearted, hilarious, and tender. ” —Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist

Max and his dad love their weekends together. Weekends mean pancakes, pizza, spy games, dog-walking, school projects, and surprising neighbors! Every weekend presents a small adventure as Max gets to know his dad’s new neighborhood—and learns some new ways of thinking about home. Acclaimed author Linda Urban deftly portrays a third-grader’s inner world during a time of transition in this sweet and funny illustrated story that bridges the early reader and middle-grade novel.

“Urban’s subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max’s worries and ‘someone-sitting-on-his-chest’ feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures—with future ones planned. ” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max’s third-grade point of view … Urban’s writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound ‘sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats’) and simple enough to be accessible. ” —The Bulletin (starred review)

“A sweet, empathetic look at a common situation. ” —Kirkus Reviews

“Urban’s touch is light throughout … a story just right for budding chapter-book readers. ” —The Horn Book

“The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max’s warm, easygoing relationship with his father. ” —Booklist

Language:
English
Category:
Children

More info about the ebook

Publisher:
HMH Books for Young Readers
Published:
2020-12-15
ISBN:
9780544598195

    Similar books

    Hitta storyn som passar just dig

    Henrik Karlsson

    "Har precis startat en provperiod hos Storytel och det är det bästa jag någonsin gjort. Att lyssna ger mig full koncentration på boken samtidigt som jag kan pyssla med annat."

    Birgitta Johansson

    "Det bästa som har hänt mig på länge. Dessutom lyssnar jag på böcker som jag nog aldrig hade kommit mig för att läsa annars. Jag lyssnar i bilen, på promenaden eller när jag städar."

    Birgitta Lindh

    "Jag och min man delar familjeabonnemanget och har haft Storytel i 5-6 år. Vi är så nöjda med både appen och Readern. Här finns ett stort bokutbud som passar oss båda!"