not rated
Part 1 of 102

Eight Cousins

Author: Louisa May Alcott E-book

Eight Cousins (1875) is a novel by American author, feminist, and abolitionist Louisa May Alcott. Based on her experience of being raised by a father dedicated to education reform, and grounded in her radical beliefs on the role of women in society, Eight Cousins is a masterpiece of children’s literature that explores themes of family, death, and perseverance.

Rose Campbell is a young girl when her parents pass away. Orphaned, she is taken to the Boston home of her great aunts, the Campbell sisters, who raise her while awaiting the arrival of their brother Alec, Rose’s legal guardian. An heiress, Rose must adjust to the rhythms of New England high society while also learning that the limitations placed on women—which her uncle disdains—must not be allowed to restrain her. When Alec returns from business overseas, she is introduced to her male uncles and cousins. Although she is nervous at first—and still in mourning for her affectionate father— she soon finds herself appreciative of her new male role model, who educates her, rejects the oppressive women’s fashion of the day, and encourages her to take control of her life and fortune. Although her more conservative aunts are first wary of Alec’s influence, they too grow to understand his moral and political principles, creating the harmony necessary for Rose’s upbringing and development into a capable young woman.

Although less popular than Alcott’s “March Family Saga,” Eight Cousins is a brilliant work that captures the power of love and community over prejudice and convention, and—like each of the author’s works—has long been read and adored by children and adults alike.

With a beautifully designed cover and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of Louisa May Alcott’s Eight Cousins is a classic of American literature and children’s fiction reimagined for modern readers.

© 2020 Mint Editions (E-book) ISBN: 9781513272726

Explore more of