Estratto
The Mercies - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Mercies

The Mercies

4,14 93 5 Scritto da: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Letto da: Jessie Buckley
Audio.
The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020.

For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful.

Winter, 1617. The sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. A young woman, Maren, watches as the men of the island, out fishing, perish in an instant. Vardø is now a place of women.

Eighteen months later, a sinister figure arrives. Summoned from Scotland to take control of a place at the edge of the civilized world, Absalom Cornet knows what he needs to do to bring the women of the island to heel. With him travels his young wife, Ursa. In her new home, and in Maren, Ursa finds something she has never seen before: independent women. But Absalom sees only a place flooded with a terrible evil, one he must root out at all costs . . .

'Beautiful and chilling' – Madeline Miller, author of Circe
'Took my breath away' – Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring
Lingua: Inglese Categoria: Narrativa Traduttore:

Più informazioni

Editore: Picador
Pubblicato: 2020-02-06
Durata: 11H 5Min
ISBN: 9781529005158
Recensioni

Come funziona?

1) Crea un account qui sul sito web

2) Attiva la prova gratuita

3) Scarica l’app

4) Inserisci le tue credenziali e accedi all’app

5) Inizia ad ascoltare!

Prova gratis per 14 giorni