No Friend but the Mountains - Behrouz Boochani

No Friend but the Mountains

No Friend but the Mountains

4.09 11 5 Autore: Behrouz Boochani Narratore: Richard Flanagan, Thomas Keneally, Isobelle Carmody, Omid Tofighian, Benjamin Law, Geoffrey Robertson, Janet Galbraith, Mathilda Imlah, Sarah Dale, Yumi Stynes
Formato: audio.
The Award-winning International Bestselling Story of One Man's Six Year Detention in Australia ‘A powerfully vivid account of the experiences of a refugee: desperation, brutality, suffering, and all observed with an eye that seems to see everything and told in a voice that’s equal to the task.' - Phillip Pullman In 2013, Kurdish journalist Behrouz Boochani sought asylum in Australia but was instead illegally imprisoned in the country’s most notorious detention centre on Manus Island. This book is the result. Boochani spent nearly five years typing passages of this book one text at a time from a secret mobile phone in prison. Compiled and translated from Farsi, they form an incredible story of how escaping political persecution in Iran, he ended up trapped as a stateless person. This vivid, gripping portrait of his years of incarceration and exile shines devastating light on the fates of so many people, as borders close around the world. No Friend but the Mountains is both a brave act of witness and a moving testament to the humanity of all people, in the most extreme of circumstances. 'A brilliant book. No Friend but the Mountains can rightly take its place on the shelf of world prison literature . . . It is a profound victory for a young poet who showed us all how much words can still matter.' - Richard Flanagan, Booker Prize winning author of The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Lingua: Inglese Categoria: Biografie Traduttore: Omid Tofighian

Più informazioni

Editore: Picador
Pubblicato: 2019-07-11
Durata: 13H
ISBN: 9781529028508

Come funziona?

1) Crea un account qui sul sito web

2) Attiva la prova gratuita

3) Scarica l’app

4) Inserisci le tue credenziali e accedi all’app

5) Inizia ad ascoltare!

Prova gratis per 14 giorni