27 Recensioner
3.7
Längd
12T 26min
Språk
Engelska
Format
Kategori
Deckare

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Named a Best Book of 2022 by The New York Times, Air Mail, and more! “[W]itty, original…a delight.” —The New York Times Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley. © 2022 Simon & Schuster Audio (Ljudbok): 9781797135670

27 Recensioner
3.7
Längd
12T 26min
Språk
Engelska
Format
Kategori
Deckare

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Named a Best Book of 2022 by The New York Times, Air Mail, and more! “[W]itty, original…a delight.” —The New York Times Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley. © 2022 Simon & Schuster Audio (Ljudbok): 9781797135670

Betyg och recensioner

Samlade recensioner

3.7

Helhetsbetyg baserat på 27 betyg

Andra beskrev boken så här:

  • Oförutsägbar

  • Bladvändare

  • Smart

Ladda ner appen för att vara med i snacket och lämna recensioner.

Mest populära

Visar 4 av 27

  • Динара

    15 feb. 2022

      Tankeväckande
      Häpnadsväckande
      Sorglig

    Не представляла, что роман, почти целиком состоящий из имейлов, может быть настолько увлекательным. Очень рекомендую

  • Bev

    3 feb. 2022

      Bladvändare
      Smart
      Rolig

    Truly original. Cleverly constructed. Compulsive reading.

  • Dakota

    22 juli 2022

      Worst book ever

    • AJ

      3 sep. 2022

        Smart
        Oförutsägbar

      A decent whodunit told as an epistolary crime thriller. The use of devices such as the junior solicitors weighing up the evidence and the drips and drabs introduction of further evidence to create alternative suspects, took away from what could have been an epistolary novel on par with greats like Stoker's Dracula and King's Carrie.

    Betyg och recensioner

    Samlade recensioner

    3.7

    Helhetsbetyg baserat på 27 betyg

    Andra beskrev boken så här:

    • Oförutsägbar

    • Bladvändare

    • Smart

    Ladda ner appen för att vara med i snacket och lämna recensioner.

    Mest populära

    Visar 4 av 27

    • Динара

      15 feb. 2022

        Tankeväckande
        Häpnadsväckande
        Sorglig

      Не представляла, что роман, почти целиком состоящий из имейлов, может быть настолько увлекательным. Очень рекомендую

    • Bev

      3 feb. 2022

        Bladvändare
        Smart
        Rolig

      Truly original. Cleverly constructed. Compulsive reading.

    • Dakota

      22 juli 2022

        Worst book ever

      • AJ

        3 sep. 2022

          Smart
          Oförutsägbar

        A decent whodunit told as an epistolary crime thriller. The use of devices such as the junior solicitors weighing up the evidence and the drips and drabs introduction of further evidence to create alternative suspects, took away from what could have been an epistolary novel on par with greats like Stoker's Dracula and King's Carrie.

      Lyssna och läs för halva priset

      Få obegränsad tillgång till en oändlig värld av stories.

      • Obegränsad lyssning
      • Över 800 000 stories
      • 50 % rabatt i 6 månader
      • Hundratals nya stories varje vecka
      • Avsluta när du vill
      1-cover.devices@2x
      Cover for The Appeal
      Cover for The Appeal

      Andra gillade också ...