The Smiling Tiger

Språk
Engelska
Format
Kategori

Deckare

In this Golden Age mystery by the author of Skeleton Key, murder plunges a Berkeley husband and wife into the secret world of a cult. It’s 1949, and with the War well and truly in the past, Americans are relaxing into the warm bath of suburbia. Even groovy Northern California, even sharp-eyed Georgine and Todd McKinnon (last seen in The Glass Mask and Skeleton Key) have largely succumbed to the lure of comfortable conformity. But the McKinnons’ pleasant domesticity is shattered by the arrival of a distinctly nonconformist young man, who arrives unannounced one night, tells a wild tale, and dies a short time later. Why did he choose the McKinnons to hear him out? Sure, he hoped Todd would write a check, eager to turn the strange story into one of the thrillers he regularly sells to the pulps. But could there have been another reason? One bizarre phone call, and Georgine is all too ready to believe there might have been … Perfect for fans of Margaret Maron and Craig Rice “Absorbing. ” —Kirkus Reviews "Mrs. Offord … writes distinctly clever upper-drawer mystery tales … with murder and satire and cold chills sprinkled over the plot liberally"—Salt Lake Tribune © 2020 Felony & Mayhem Press (E-bok): 9781631940996

The Smiling Tiger

Språk
Engelska
Format
Kategori

Deckare

In this Golden Age mystery by the author of Skeleton Key, murder plunges a Berkeley husband and wife into the secret world of a cult. It’s 1949, and with the War well and truly in the past, Americans are relaxing into the warm bath of suburbia. Even groovy Northern California, even sharp-eyed Georgine and Todd McKinnon (last seen in The Glass Mask and Skeleton Key) have largely succumbed to the lure of comfortable conformity. But the McKinnons’ pleasant domesticity is shattered by the arrival of a distinctly nonconformist young man, who arrives unannounced one night, tells a wild tale, and dies a short time later. Why did he choose the McKinnons to hear him out? Sure, he hoped Todd would write a check, eager to turn the strange story into one of the thrillers he regularly sells to the pulps. But could there have been another reason? One bizarre phone call, and Georgine is all too ready to believe there might have been … Perfect for fans of Margaret Maron and Craig Rice “Absorbing. ” —Kirkus Reviews "Mrs. Offord … writes distinctly clever upper-drawer mystery tales … with murder and satire and cold chills sprinkled over the plot liberally"—Salt Lake Tribune © 2020 Felony & Mayhem Press (E-bok): 9781631940996

Betyg och recensioner

Samlade recensioner

Inga recensioner ännu

Ladda ner appen för att vara med i snacket och lämna recensioner.

Betyg och recensioner

Samlade recensioner

Inga recensioner ännu

Ladda ner appen för att vara med i snacket och lämna recensioner.

Lyssna när som helst, var som helst

Få obegränsad tillgång till en oändlig värld av stories.

  • Obegränsad lyssning
  • Över 800 000 stories
  • Hundratals nya stories varje vecka
  • Avsluta när du vill
Prova 7 dagar gratis
1-cover.devices@2x
Cover for The Smiling Tiger
Cover for The Smiling Tiger

Andra gillade också ...