In the Bleak Midwinter - Carol Rivers

In the Bleak Midwinter

In the Bleak Midwinter

2.33 3 5 Autor: Carol Rivers
Disponible como libro electrónico.
A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London at Christmas, from the bestselling author of A Wartime Christmas. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin

'Surely one of the best saga writers of her time' – Rosie Clarke

THIS CHRISTMAS, SHE'LL FIGHT TO KEEP HER FAMILY TOGETHER

1919. Two months after the Armistice that ended the Great War, life in London's East End is slowly returning to normal. But for 25-year-old Birdie Connor, the battle is only just beginning . . .

Frank, Birdie's older brother, has been sent to prison for deserting his army post whilst fighting in Belgium, and the shame heaped on the Connor family by their neighbours is unrelenting. Wilfred, Birdie's widowed father, has disowned Frank and vows that he will never set eyes on his son again, but Birdie cannot believe that her brother is guilty

When Frank escapes from prison and comes to find Birdie in secret, she promises to help him and is determined to prove his innocence. But little does she realise that she is exposing herself to danger as Frank gets himself deeper and deeper into trouble.

Helped by the Connors' lodger, the handsome Harry Chambers, will Birdie be able to find the proof that Frank needs in time to reconcile him to their frail father before it is too late? And can she build a future to keep herself and her younger brother, Patrick, safe?

Praise for CAROL RIVERS:

'A gripping page turner' - LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' - ELIZABETH GILL
Idioma: Inglés Categoría: Novelas Traductor:

Editorial: Simon & Schuster UK
Publicado: 2011-10-13
ISBN: 9781849834117
Comentarios

¡Escucha lo que quieras cuando quieras!

Una gran variedad de contenido para escuchar a tu manera. Descarga los audiolibros en tu móvil en modo sin conexión, cambia de título tantas veces como quieras, comparte un libro con tus amigos y encuentra tu momento Storytel.

Prueba gratuita de 14 días