2 KUUKAUTTA -50% Lunasta etu
1 Arviot
29T 49M

Pillar of Fire: America in the King Years 1963-65

Kirjailija: Taylor Branch Lukija: Prentice Onayemi, Janina Edwards Äänikirja ja E-kirja

From Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch, the second part of his epic trilogy on Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement.

In the second volume of his three-part history, a monumental trilogy that began with Parting the Waters, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award, Taylor Branch portrays the Civil Rights Movement at its zenith, recounting the climactic struggles as they commanded the national stage.

Beginning with the Nation of Islam and conflict over racial separatism, Pillar of Fire takes the reader to Mississippi and Alabama: Birmingham, the murder of Medgar Evers, the "March on Washington," the Civil Rights Act, and voter registration drives. In 1964, King is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Branch's magnificent trilogy makes clear why the Civil Rights Movement, and indeed King's leadership, are among the nation's enduring achievements. In bringing these decades alive, preserving the integrity of those who marched and died, Branch gives us a crucial part of our history and heritage.

© 2019 Simon & Schuster Audio (Äänikirja) ISBN: 9781508298847 © 2007 Simon & Schuster (E-kirja) ISBN: 9781416558705

Lisää tarinoita aiheesta