Not rated
0
Language
English
Category
Fiction
Length
11T 2min

The Invincible Miss Cust: A Novel

Author: Penny Haw Narrator: Lucy Rayner Audiobook

This must-read historical fiction for fans of Marie Benedict and Tracey Enerson Wood is based on the real life of Britain’s first woman veterinary surgeon.

Aleen Cust has big dreams. And no one―not her family, society, or the law―will stop her.

Born in Ireland in 1868 to an aristocratic English family, Aleen knows she is destined to work with animals, even if her family is appalled by the idea of a woman pursuing a veterinary career. Going against their wishes but with the encouragement of the guardian assigned to her upon her father’s death, Aleen attends the New Veterinary College in Edinburgh, enrolling as A. I. Custance to spare her family the humiliation they fear.

At last, she is on her way to becoming a veterinary surgeon! Little does she know her biggest obstacles lie ahead.

The Invincible Miss Cust is based on the real life of Aleen Isabel Cust, who defied her family and society to become Britain and Ireland’s first woman veterinary surgeon.

Through Penny Haw’s meticulous research, riveting storytelling, and elegant prose, Aleen’s story of ambition, determination, family, friendship, and passion comes to life. It is a story that, even today, women will recognize, of battling patriarchy and an unequal society to realize one’s dreams and pave the way for other women in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds.This

© 2023 Blackstone Publishing (Audiobook) ISBN: 9798212004817