7 Umsagnir
Klassískar bókmenntir
27Klst. 55Mín

The Complete Mapp and Lucia, Volume 2

Höfundur: E.F. Benson Lesari: Georgina Sutton Hljóðbók

Sharply observant and wickedly funny, E.F. Benson’s six ‘Mapp and Lucia’ novels satirise the upper-middle-class social climbers in 1920s and ’30s rural England. Games of bridge and cups of tea fuel hilarious gossip and vindictive plots a-plenty. It is a masterfully sustained spotlight on the minutiae of village life—a clever and ultimately heart-warming series that seems tailor-made for audio. Volume 2 contains the second three books.
Mapp and Lucia: When Lucia goes to stay in Tilling, Miss Mapp’s social pedestal starts to wobble. Far from falling into line as Miss Mapp expects, Lucia soon manoeuvres herself—via dinners, luncheons and games of bridge—into a position of control. Behind a façade of exaggerated manners, the gloves are off!
Lucia’s Progress: Lucia’s 50th birthday is approaching and she is determined to give her life more meaning. From rumours of pregnancy and Roman remains to Tilling’s Town Council elections, renewed rivalry between Lucia and Elizabeth Mapp-Flint (who has married Major Benjy) ripples irresistibly through the novel with many a laugh-out-loud moment.
Trouble for Lucia: Lucia is now rich, happily married, and Mayor of Tilling—but the village gossip is in full swing and Lucia’s arch-rival Elizabeth is out for revenge. Will Lucia fall at the final hurdle? Delightfully witty and shamelessly entertaining, this is a fitting finale to the series—E.F. Benson’s ‘au reservoir’!

© 2021 Naxos Audiobooks (Hljóðbók) ISBN: 9781781983607

Skoða meira af